News, Notes and Results…

Matt Stocker, Devin Allbaugh and Josh MellmanMinnesota State Men

Matt Stocker, Devin Allbaugh and Josh Mellman
Minnesota State Men

Minnesota State

The NCAA has announced that seven Minnesota State men’s track and field athletes have qualified for this year’s NCAA Division II Indoor Championships in Birmingham, Ala., on March 7-9.
There will be 2 Iowans making the trip south to represent the Mavericks.
Senior Devin Allbaugh, Pleasant Valley, will be making his first appearance in the national meet in the one-mile run. The time of 4:10.46 he ran at the NSIC Championships qualified him for the national meet.
Junior Keyvan Rudd, Davenport Central, will be returning for third consecutive year after finishing in seventh-place with a jump of 2.12-meters last year. He was ninth as a freshman in 2011. Rudd’s leap of 2.18-meters earned him a spot at the national meet.


South Dakota

Seven individual championships and a winning relay team helped South Dakota capture the men’s Summit League Indoor Track and Field Championship held at the DakotaDome Sunday and Monday. It is the first Summit League title in any sport for the Coyotes.

Four place winners in the 5,000-meter run, the second-to-last event, gave South Dakota the points it needed to edge North Dakota State. The Coyotes won the 1,600-meter relay for good measure to finish with 190 points. NDSU finished with 176.5 points. Kansas City was third with 118 points.

South Dakota junior Jeff Mettler was named Track Championship MVP. Mettler won titles in the 3,000-meter run (8:18.69) and the mile (4:11.18) and took third in the 5,000-meter run (14:40.28).

USD freshman Chris Nielsen won the 400-meter dash (50.28s) and anchored the winning relay team to garner Newcomer of the Year honors on the men’s side. The Coyotes swept the award with fellow frosh Amber Eickorn earning Newcomer of the Year on the women’s side. Eichkorn placed third in the 3,000-meter run (9:55.43) and fourth in the 5,000-meter run (17:30.65).

South Dakota’s women placed third with 114 team points, four shy of second-place Omaha. North Dakota State captured its sixth consecutive championship with 186 points.

Coyote juniors Bethany Buell and Megan Glisar, Seargeant Bluff Luton, won Summit League championships in the pole vault and high jump, respectively. Both set Summit League records and program records, and both improved their spots on the national list. Buell cleared 14-feet-5.5-inches, the fourth-best vault in the nation. Glisar reached 5-feet-11.25-inches in the high jump, the 18th-best jump in D-1 to date.

Western Illinois

 Tyler Younkin, Bettendorf/Western Illinois, led off the Leathernecks 4×400 team that finished fourth in the Summit League Championships in 3:27.33.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: