UNI and Iowa Compete at Notre Dame’s Mayo

Jordon Guske-WDM Valley-UNI©Jim Kirby

Jordon Guske-WDM Valley-UNI
©Jim Kirby


The University of Northern Iowa track and field program finished competition at the Meyo Invitational today, hosted by the University of Notre Dame.

Jordan Guske, WDM Valley, continued his strong indoor performance this season with another personal record. He finished with a time of 22.25 in the 200 meter dash against a competitive field of athletes, matching his personal record that he set in the event at the Jack Jennett Invitational.

Antoine Parrish, Burlington, set a new personal record in the 800 meters today with a time of 1:55.38. UNI had two other athletes competing in the 800 meters with Chad Rutledge, Algona, notching a time of 1:56.05 and Ryan Krogmann, NE Goose Lake, coming in with a time of 1:57.33.

On the women’s side, Emily McCarthy, SC East, was the lone Panther running in the 800 meters, coming away with a season-best time in the event. Her time of 2:13.90 placed her in the top-10 in the Missouri Valley Conference.

The Panthers competed mostly in the distance events during the day of competition, including four athletes competing in the mile. On the women’s side Scotti Schon, Waukon, and Lindsey Wilkins both notched season best times in the mile, finishing with times of 5:02.44 and 5:03.12, respectively.

The Panthers closed out the meet with the men’s 4X400 meter relay team of Guske, Hill, Cedar Falls, Marshall Sheldon Magee and Jess Davenport, SE Polk, putting up a time of 3:15.36. The UNI track and field team will return to action next week when they travel to Ames, Iowa for the Iowa State Classic.

Ethan Holmes-Clinton-Iowa©Jim Kirby

Ethan Holmes-Clinton-Iowa
©Jim Kirby


University of Iowa track and field junior Raven Moore took the title in the women’s 200 meters Saturday at the Meyo Invitational. The Meyo Invitational was held at the Loftus Sports Center in Notre Dame, Ind. No team scores were kept at the event.

Moore took the 200 meters title when she crossed the line in a personal best time of 24:30. That time ranks ninth all-time at Iowa. The junior also competed in the 60 meters final, where she finished fourth with a time of 7.64. Keith Brown ran to a 10th place finish in the men’s 200 meters when he clocked a time of 22.03.

“We had several highlights that improved us as a team,” director of track and field Larry Wieczorek said. “Each week we try to get a little bit better as a team, and I think we did that.”

Freshman Klyvens Delaunay and sophomore transfer student Babatunde Amosu both recorded top five finishes in the men’s triple jump. Delaunay’s personal best leap of 51-3 ½ (15.63m) earned him a third-place finish. That mark ranks third all-time at Iowa. Amosu finished fifth in the event when he leapt to a mark of 49-2 ½ (15.00m). That mark ranks fourth all-time at Iowa.

Josh Larney ran to a third-place finish in the men’s 60 meters. The senior recorded a personal best time of 6.77. That time ranks fourth all-time at Iowa. Senior Ethan Holmes, Clinton, clocked a time of 8.22 to finish sixth in the 60-meter hurdles.

“I thought Klyvens Delaunay had a tremendous triple jump that places him in the heart of Big Ten competition, and Josh Larney continues to get better and better in the sprints,” Wieczorek added.

Freshman MonTayla Holder recorded a fourth-place finish in the women’s 400 meters. Holder crossed the line in a personal best time of 55.33. That time ranks sixth all-time at Iowa. Sophomore Kaleb VanCleave, DM Hoover, ran to an 18th place finish in the men’s 400 meters. VanCleave clocked a time of 48.49.

Senior Ryan Weir and junior Nathan Prom recorded personal best times in the men’s 800

Kaitlyn Nelson-Valley-Iowa©Frank Sevigne

Kaitlyn Nelson-Valley-Iowa
©Frank Sevigne

meters. Weir ran to a third-place finish with a time of 1:49.92, while Prom clocked a time of 1:50.58 to finish sixth. Weir’s time ranks fourth all-time at Iowa, while Prom’s ranks fifth. Freshman Kaitlyn Nelson, WDM Valley, recorded a personal best time in the women’s 800 meters when she crossed the line in 2:12.87.

“The women also had a good meet. Raven Moore was outstanding, and Montayla Holder and Kaitlyn Nelson continue to improve,” Wieczorek said.

Kevin Lewis, Ottumwa, ran to a fifth-place finish in the Ryan Shay 3,000 meter run. Lewis crossed the line in a personal best time of 8:12.36. That time ranks seventh all-time at Iowa.

The men’s and women’s 1,600-meter relay teams each recorded fifth place finishes. The women’s team of junior Zinnia Miller, Holder, Moore, and Nelson recorded a time of 3:44.87, while the men’s team of VanCleave, Holmes, senior Keaton Rickels, Iowa Falls/Alden and sophomore Brennan Davey, Indianola, clocked a time of 3:11.79.

“This is the kind of meet that you look to find some people that can keep improving to benefit the entire team,” Wieczorek said. “This week I think both the men and women did that.”

Iowa will split competitors between the Cyclone Classic in Ames, Iowa, the Husky Invitational in Seattle, Wash., and the Tyson Invitational in Fayetteville, Ark. on Feb. 8-9.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: