Casey McDermott Continues Competitive Career

Casey McDermottcourtesy Drake Athletics

Casey McDermott
courtesy Drake Athletics

DES MOINES, Iowa — From the Drake Athletic Office.

Drake cross country assistant coach Casey McDermott (Fort Dodge-Drake) returned to competitive action competing in the Applied Materials Silicon Valley Turkey Trot Elite Invitational in San Jose on Thanksgiving, Nov. 22.The former standout for Drake women’s cross country team had a great race, finishing in 13th-place, running the 5-kilometer course in 16:44. McDermott was one of three top-15 finishers to not be running with an affiliation and was the only competitor from the state of Iowa.

“It was fun to have the opportunity to compete and race against many great runners,” McDermott said.

For McDermott, part of the experience was getting back into competitive training.

“I enjoyed having a purpose in my training the past couple months preparing for this race,” McDermott said. “I focused on the quality of my training in my workouts on the track and in the weight room. I also paid close attention to my nutrition to give myself an edge.  I’m looking forward to more races in the future.”

 

Leave a Reply

