Lindsay Lettow NCAA Top 10 Award!

Lindsay Lettow-Olympic Trials
courtesy Michael Scott

Former Central Missouri track & field standout Lindsay Lettow, Des Moines Christian has been named an NCAA Today’s Top 10 Award winner. She is one of only two Division II student-athletes to receive the award.

The NCAA Today’s Top 10 recognizes 10 student-athletes who completed their athletics eligibility during the 2011-12 academic year for their success on the fields and courts, in the classroom, and in the community. Award recipients will be recognized at the Honors Celebration on Jan. 18 during the NCAA Convention in Grapevine, Texas.

Lettow, Des Moines Christian, finished her stellar career as a four-time national champion and 16-time All-American. She became just the third student-athlete in MIAA history to win the Ken B. Jones Award two times as the conference’s top female student-athlete. She was a four-time United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches’ Association Field Athlete of the Year and won the Dr. Peggy Martin Award as Central Missouri’s top female senior student-athlete. She made the Dean’s List at UCM every semester and graduated with a 3.84 GPA in psychology and was awarded a prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, one of only 29 female student-athletes in the country to be awarded the scholarship from the 2011-12 winter season.

She was an active member of the Central Missouri Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, the Mules and Jennies Literacy Team, volunteered at nursing and veterans homes in Warrensburg and continues to sing the national anthem at UCM sporting events.

The NCAA Honors Committee selects the honorees. The committee is composed of athletics administrators at member institutions and nationally distinguished citizens who are former student-athletes. Previously, the award recognized eight student-athletes and was known as Today’s Top VIII. The NCAA Honors Committee expanded the award to honor 10 student-athletes to recognize the increased number of student-athletes, sports and championship opportunities.

Other recipients of the award include: Nick Amuchastegui (Stanford/Wrestling), Miles Batty (Brigham Young/Cross Country, Track & Field), Ashley Brignac (Louisiana at Lafayette/Softball), Micah Davis (Delta State/Football), Robert Griffin III (Baylor/Football), Stacey Hagensen (Pacific Lutheran/Softball), Brooke Pancake (Alabama/Golf), Liz Phillips (Washington University in St. Louis/Cross Country, Track & Field), Wendy Trott (Georgia/Swimming & Diving).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: