Jason Fogel – Best Since 1989 at Pursuit

Des Moines – September 24, 2012

Phil Coppess is featured in today’s NY Time (Oct. 4) written by ISU grad Sarah Barker and married to Dennis Barker, coach for Team Minnesota.  The highlight of Phil’s races was the 1985 Twin Cities Marathon when he set the race record of 2:10:05.  The article is titled, “27 Years Later, Self-Made Runner Hasn’t Been Caught”.  The article recounts Phil’s impressive 1985 win at TC Marathon.  Phil states about his training routine, “I didn’t think it was a good 20-miler unless I had gone under 2 hours.”  Sarah talked to Phil on the phone for over 4 hours, “I have tons of great stories and all the running-specific information, so i will try to find a venue for that part of the story (believe it or not, Runners World and Running Times both turned it down).”

Kristy Feldman was 3rd at the Quad Cities Half-Marathon (Sept. 23) in 1:23:41, just 31 seconds off her best.  Kristy looks back, “I have had a great season . . . coming back after a long 2 year stent of what I would call garbage.”  It’s been a busy fall for Kristy as she was inducted to her HS athletic Hall of Fame on Sept. 28 and this Saturday, Oct. 6 she will be married.

Jason Flogel recaps his Capital Pursuit victory of 51:10 (Des Moines, Sept. 23), “I ran negative splits and probably broke my 8k PR as my last 5 miles were 24:43 and I felt like I could have kept going. My overall time was a 20 second PR over my half marathon split from Grandma’s in June.”  Update – Jason’s time was the best at Capital Pursuit since 1991 not 1989 as reported earlier.

Chan Yew Woo who earlier this year ran a best of 2:25:07 (Grandma’s, June) reports, “Because of my knee injury,  I will be undergoing a knee surgery to repair my damaged left knee cartilage and meniscus in October. Due to that circumstance,  I won¹t be racing until Spring 2013.”

Leave a Reply

